Site Critique: Invisible Children

This project once swept the nation, then, I know, a lot of controversy bursted out. And that’s why I decided to take a look at the website of Invisible Children.

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.34.47 PM

The first thing that got my eyes was the color contrast between vibrant blue and black-and-white photo background. In addition, the white navigation bar with black letters on stand out against the background, and I think it makes the site’s information very easy to find and read for the audience.

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.36.28 PM

This page is under “#ZEROLRA” tab, and you can really see that the site’s main colors: bright blue, gray, white and black. I like how the website mainly uses only these colors and keeps its simplicity, letting the viewers to focus on its content rather than its look.

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.36.40 PM

Another feature that I found interesting was also on “#ZEROLRA” page. This illustration gives a brief explanation on the process of escape from the war scene, which the group is currently the most focused on. If you bring your cursor over an illustration…

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.37.19 PM

…the information box pops up. Using this, a reader can get essential information in one seating, and I think it’s a very convenient feature especially in such site with so many information.

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.38.03 PM

And because the group focuses and depends A LOT on donation, the site has a little timeline of goal donation to achieve their projects. However, I don’t really like that you can see this information in different forms in every page of the site. I understand it’s really important and donation is a main goal for this website, but it’s just too much. It makes me feel like I don’t want to make a donation because every page of the site asks a viewer for money.

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.41.04 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.41.25 PM

Another informative feature that’s helpful to understand the website is this timeline. This shows the story that Invisible Children group is concerned about and what the group has been doing to solve the concern. If you click a year, you can see a list of significant events happened that year. It’s another convenient overview of the story, and it’s very easy to navigate and understand.

Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 2.43.45 PM

 

In addition to donation, the group’s another big focus is on social network services and promotion of itself. You can see this box of email sign up and the group’s SNS information at the bottom of every page, but it’s not as bothering as the donation information on each page.

Overall, I like how this website is simple and easy to navigate. I like how it uses few point colors (blue, teal..) to accentuate important information from more plain background. Also, the page is informative and ongoing at the same time. The group updates new concerns, stories, and promotions often, and these updates would provide new information frequently to the site’s subscribers. I think the site’s intended audience could be from any group, no limit on age, gender, race, etc. But this wouldn’t attract those who are not so passionate about human issues. Personally, I don’t think I’m the group’s intended audience. I have been interested in the background story of Joseph Kony and the group’s projects since that viral video hit America few years ago, but I became hesitant in its truth because of continuous controversy on the group. But this is just me; I believe that people who are more passionate in human and society issues would enjoy this informative, creative website a lot.

4 responses to “Site Critique: Invisible Children

  1. I, too, think this website is a little excessive when it comes to asking for donations. However, I love the LRA Crisis Tracker! What a neat interactive map!

  2. I also think the colors are extremely eye catching! I like the fixed navigation bar over the top so that users can easily go to anywhere they want without scrolling all the way down/up. But I am not that into the design of the “stories” parts. I feel like the blank grids, colorful pictures, and different-colored grids all together are a little bit too messy.

  3. I really like the colors as well, I like the contrast between different pages (blue on grey, grey on blue). The interactive features of the site seem simple (in a good way) and easy to understand/navigate. You made some good points on the clean and consistent design.

  4. As they mentioned above, the color scheme really stands out! This website is straightforward in design but also right to the point!

Leave a Reply

