Huffington Post: Anti-Bullying

For my blog post critique this week I decided to take a look at the Huffington Post’s Anti-Bullying package. When you enter the main page you are grabbed by a very large headline and photo that correspond with the main story.

 

Image

The rest of the page is set up in an easy to use way that guides users from one topic to the next. There are several video clips and all the stories are accompanied with photos to enhance the piece. The far right column has a “most popular section” that highlights the most read stories related to the anti-bullying topic. Underneath that and bleeding into the center column are quick read stories for users to read, 

Image

 

Another section that I particularly enjoyed about the site is the column to the furthest left, which has articles written by all different contributing writers, adding variety to the page. 

Image

 

The site is a simple design, as it is a part of the Huffington Post overall website. It follows many of their conventional styles for the website. It is pretty easy to see the different sections, although they are not clearly marked. I don’t find the site to be extremely engaging, but I don’t think I am the intended audience and that could be why. I feel that the intended audience for this page is parents and people in education who see the effects of bullying first hand. The coverage of this topic is not organized in a single story way that follows a particular person or event, but is more of a compilation of several stories related to anti-bullying. I like the site, but one thing I would create is a better navigation bar with easier access to archives. 

 

One response to “Huffington Post: Anti-Bullying

  1. I like that this site has clear separation between each story, including labeling a story with ‘WATCH’ or ‘LOOK’. I think it definitely helps a reader to determine whether to click on a story or not. But I think that the site might have too much stories in one page. The page is easy to navigate because it’s simple and it keeps clean grids, but too much information could confuse some viewers. I also agree with you about the intended audience. I’m not too excited or thrilled to look over the page, but it would be helpful to concerned parents or even teachers.

Leave a Reply

