Grid Pattern: Thought Catalog

Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 8.58.48 PMScreen Shot 2013-09-24 at 8.58.17 PM

 

Thought Catalog is one of my favorite websites, not only because of the content but because of the simplicity and usability of the website.

The simplistic grid design is the same on every archive page, two stories at the top, three on the bottom. I find this easier than some other grids because you are not bombarded with a lot of information all at once and the information remains simplistic.

Screen Shot 2013-09-24 at 9.01.10 PM

 

When you click on an individual story it switches to a single column grid line, which I like because it really does help to focus your attention on one spot without having many other images all around the story you are trying to view.

 

I think I will try to use the idea of a gridded homepage, with simplified secondary pages for my website.

One response to “Grid Pattern: Thought Catalog

  1. I like this site, many cool and fun stuff there. I think it used a very regular approach by using the grids. You might need to know the CSS coding of this site.

Leave a Reply

