USAToday.com

When thinking about the user experience, I think about attracting users to your site and keeping them interested in the content on your site. For me to be attracted to a site, I like seeing vivid pictures and images that will entertain my eyes and keep me busy for a while. You also want your user to click through to other pages in your site to keep them entertained even more.

One site that I think has vivid images and content is USAToday.com. When you first go to the site, you are greeted with multiple images that all contain bright colors and have a welcoming feel. The pictures also move and rotate which adds an element of interaction. Here is a shot of the home page.

Screen shot 2013-09-04 at 11.57.01 AM

The one thing that turned me off on the site is the advertising pop-up that immediately greeted me once I got on the home page. For me, this turns me off from the site because when I read my news, I don’t want to be immediately greeted with advertising. This makes the site inauthentic to me. Here is an image of the advertisement.

Screen shot 2013-09-04 at 11.59.35 AM

2 responses to “USAToday.com

  1. I agree with you that this site is very user friendly. I also appreciate a site with vivid photos and colors that are appealing to the eye.

    In my opinion the layout is one of the site’s best aspects. The colored tabs at the top of the page make it easy for the user to find the type of information they are looking for and once they’ve clicked on the tab, the side panels are also colored to match with the tabs. I like the fact that there is an area on each topic/section to see the most important stories.

    One of the things I like about this site is that the website uses horizontal transitions where you can click an arrow to go forward and backward to other pages, because sometimes the vertical scroll can get overwhelming for me if the site has a lot of information. Another thing I like is the tile photo feature that shows a brief headline of the article when you hover the mouse over it- that way I don’t have to mistakenly click on articles I have no interest in because of a misleading photo. My favorite thing about the site is that the articles pop up within the site without taking you to another page and are really easy to click out of.

  2. I like USA today’s design, it keeps well USA today’s style tradition. I think the success of its design is the applying of color system, image oriented page design and very friendly user experience.

Leave a Reply

