Syrian Refugees Struggle at Zaatari Camp

This interactive feature is about the Syrian people who are seeking refuge from civil war in Jordan’s Zaatari Camp.

I like that there is a brief and clear explanation of the article right underneath the large font title. There is a slightly longer explanation of the article right underneath the large photo with a small map thumbnail to correlate with the discussed regions.

phosli

The next section has a large grid that shows the rapid growth of the Zaatari camp territory. There is an automatic slideshow feature to show the increasing occupation of the camp throughout the months. I really like the fact that each month is labeled at the bottom of the grid, which allows the viewer to click on the month they want to see without waiting for the slideshow.

grid

Right under the slideshow is a video with a brief explanation. I like the fact that the video did not automatically play and that it did not play in another window. The same thing repeats in the following section: a photo slideshow with a small video underneath.

videosmall

The last, and arguably best feature of the webpage is a color coded rolling map of the camp itself. The map zooms in and around with the hovering scroll of the mouse.

mapzoom

Initially, I thought this web page was going to be boring because of the downward scroll. Normally I don’t like downward scrolls because they make me feel like I am overwhelmed with too much information if I’m scrolling for a long time, which means I won’t read the piece. This interactive feature was user friendly and gave the viewer control over the site without having to do too much navigating. I thought the layout was simple, but neat. I really enjoyed the fact that every media section had a brief text explanation. Through the pictures, videos, maps and writing, I feel like I have grasped what the article is about. Overall it was an effective interactive article.

map_edited-1

3 responses to “Syrian Refugees Struggle at Zaatari Camp

  1. I really enjoyed this particular multimedia piece. I agree with you that I am often overwhelmed with scroll-down style pieces, but this was put together well. I also liked the fact that the video didn’t get larger or open in another window, as that usually slows down load time and is just annoying when trying to get back to the original page.

    I really loved the simplicity of this piece. You are right that it is very user-friendly. I liked the beginning slideshow showing the growth of the camp, as well as the fact that video pieces were short enough that I could watch the entire thing without getting distracted or feeling like I was spending too much time on one thing.

    I think they did a great job of getting a lot of information into one piece without it being extensively long or heavy. The piece gave a lot of information while still giving personal looks into individual people’s lives. Also the map at the end of the piece was very interesting, especially being able to zoom in and get a better idea of how large and extensive this particular camp is.

    This piece seems to have a little bit of everything, allowing technical information and personal stories to weave together without becoming an overly long and intense piece. Overall, great piece and I agree with pretty much every part of your critique as well!

  2. I had the same dubious response to the scroll down page, but that was quickly dismissed when I saw the time lapse map showing the startling growth of the camp. My attention was held by the photos and emotional video segments to get to the fantastic colored map at the bottom of the page. As the big feature of the page, I wish there were a way of incorporating it earlier in the content to grip the attention of the reader.

    I also found it noteworthy how little text is used in the telling of this story about the state of this refugee camp tied to the conflict in Syria. I copy-pasted all of the paragraph text into a document to get a word count – just 224 words, not counting headlines and captions. Yet this story is still very compelling.

    Another thing that I didn’t see commented on was the fantastic photo viewing interface. I experienced no delay waiting for load times, and even at full screen, the resolution of the photos is immaculate. Flipping through the photos using the arrow keys was an immersive experience for me.

    All-in-all, a simple layout for an engaging story, and one that I quite enjoyed! Good find, Nina.

  3. If there has a link to this project?

Leave a Reply

